Restaurant Review # 2, World Street Kitchen

Still home in Minneapolis, I decided to head to World Street Kitchen with my older brother. He frequents the restaurant and decided I needed to try their tofu bowl or a burrito.
Boy, was he right. World Street Kitchen was an excellent find. What started as a food truck became a restaurant on Lyndale between 27th and 28th, and I couldn’t be happier the permanent location is close to where I grew up.

photo 3
According to the WSK website, their restaurant “features a seasonal menu which utilizes only the highest quality ingredients, presented in a fun way: street style. The cuisine is inspired by the food served in street carts around the world, from Morocco to Vietnam.”

photo 2photo 1
The restaurant is big and open. You walk in and place your order at the counter, and then decide whether to eat there or get your food to go. We got take-out, but if you order for the restaurant, you get a number and sit down at an open table until your food is ready and brought out to you.
The menu isn’t huge, but there were still plenty of options I was excited to try. We started with the pickle plate appetizer, which featured different pickled vegetables. Although good, I’m not sure I’d order it again. The star of our meal was by far the main course.

photo 5photo 4

photo 2
Jens (my brother) ordered the Korean “BBQ” Beef Shorts Ribs Bangkok Burrito. It’s a flour tortilla stuffed with fried rice, “secret sauce,” and cilantro and basil, as well as the beef short ribs.

photo 2photo 1
I chose the Crispy Marinated Tofu Rice Bowl and was not disappointed. The bowl included steamed rice with a soft boiled egg, charred squash, shiitake mushrooms, and Chinese broccoli, topped with peanuts, crunchies, and a “secret sauce.” This dish was SO good. The marinated tofu was excellent, and the egg was cooked perfectly so that when punctured the egg spilled over the veggies and rice. I loved this dish so much I’d have trouble trying something else if I went back (let’s be honest, when I go back).

photo 4
The menu features a lot of options to suit every palate, including gluten free and vegan options. the service was also fast and polite, making it a great location to pick up a quick dinner. I highly recommend it!

photo 3

Leave a Reply

