Chocolate Banana Spread

It’s so easy to get in a breakfast rut. Grabbing a bar on your way out the door or pouring a bowl of cereal is super easy. But when I don’t nourish myself with a healthy and hearty breakfast I find my stomach grumbling and attention waning far before it’s time for lunch. So I try to always make something filling and healthy to start my day out on a good note. I’m usually an oatmeal person, but yesterday the thought of eating another bowl of oats just did not seem appealing.

I love Ezekiel Bread, and always keep the cinnamon raisin variety in my freezer.  I decided to make this delicious spread to put on two pieces of toast and enjoy with my morning coffee. This spread would also be delicious on oatmeal or mixed in with yogurt. Get creative but enjoy!

You may be thinking, chocolate for breakfast?! I admit that I’m a chocolate addict but I love chocolate at any time of day. However, the added sugar in most chocolate things is hard early in the day (hello 10am crash). I keep unsweetened cocoa powder in my pantry because it’s an easy way to add chocolate to recipes without extra sugar. The mashed banana in this recipe is so sweet it doesn’t need any extra sugar! Decadent but healthy breakfast 🙂

Image

Chocolate Banana Spread

serves one

Ingredients:

1 very ripe banana

1 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 cup almond milk

Image

Directions:

Mash your banana in a bowl. Add in cocoa powder, and add milk a little at a time until you achieve desired consistency. Spread on your toast and enjoy!

Image

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Spread

  1. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Fridays [21]hello, veggy!

  2. Pingback: Healthy Vegan Friday #21 |

Leave a Reply

