Hearty Banana Bread

I have my go-to banana bread recipe that I bake almost once a week. It’s light, sweet, and full of chocolate chips. However, the other day I had more old bananas than usual and wanted something different – not my standard muffins. Since I loved my pumpkin-ginger bread so much I decided to try a banana recipe that was similar. It’s savory, thick, and gooey. I ate a big slice fresh out of the oven, but it also tasted awesome the next day with peanut butter. Since the loaf disappeared quickly, I didn’t have time to experiment more, but next time I make it I’m saving some for a grilled peanut butter and jelly or french toast! I used eggs in the recipe, but you can easily make it vegan by using flax eggs (like in the pumpkin-ginger bread).

Image

Hearty Banana Bread

makes one large loaf

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup garbanzo bean flour (more wheat flour is fine)

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup baking stevia

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 ripe bananas

2 tbsp vanilla

2 eggs (I used egg whites)

1 cup applesauce

3/4 cup almond milk

Image

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare a loaf pan by greasing with olive oil, butter, or whatever method you prefer.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and set aside. In a medium sized bowl, mash bananas, and then add the rest of the wet ingredients (eggs, applesauce, vanilla). Mix the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until combined. Pour into pre-prepared loaf pan and bake 40-50 minutes. I took mine out at about 35 and it was really gooey on the inside, so bake the full time if you want firmer bread.

 

Shared on:

Share the Food & Fun at the Plant Based Potluck Party Link Up #11 and http://www.pureella.com

6 thoughts on “Hearty Banana Bread

  1. Hi Haley,
    This is just the recipe I need to get my husband to eat less refined flour and sugar baked goods. With sweet, moist applesauce and bananas plus oats, I bet I this banana bread recipe will be a winner with him. I also love the fact that you noted that you can make it vegan by using flax eggs. Thank you so much for sharing this healthy and delicious recipe at the Plant-Based Potluck Party Blog Hop! I appreciate it!

  2. Mmmm I love banana bread! Pinned this recipe on our Pinterest page too. Thanks for sharing it at Healthy Vegan Fridays (please be sure to link back up to the original post!)

Leave a Reply

