Mango, Avocado, & Black Bean Salsa

Have you ever tried Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa? (http://www.newmansown.com/products/newmans-own-pineapple-salsa/). The first time I tried it I might have eaten a whole jar in one sitting. I put it on top of salads, eat it with my eggs, put it in tacos, and of course eat it with chips. I love the sweetness mixed with the bite of spicy jalapeño. On Newman’s website they say it best: “Aloha-peno!  A little sweet with a bit of heat.” I recommend you grab this salsa next time you grocery shop. – perfect way to bring a little summer to the endless winter 🙂

I wanted to make some form of black bean salsa for the Super Bowl on Sunday. While walking through the grocery store I noticed Mangos were on sale and seemed to be perfectly ripe, so I decided to throw that into the mixture. Here’s what I came up with. The black beans and avocado give you healthy proteins and fats while the mango and cilantro bring the flavor. I served this with pretzel thins and tortilla chips but can imagine it a whole host of ways: put it in a quesadilla, top a breakfast burrito, or just eat as a side salad. Yum!

Image

Mango, Avocado, & Black Bean Salsa

Makes one big bowl of salsa

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, drained

1 ripe mango

1 ripe avocado

1 bunch cilantro

1 orange bell pepper (other colored peppers will work just as well)

1 jar of your favorite salsa

salt and pepper

Image

Directions:

Chop the mango, pepper, and avocado into small pieces. In a medium sized bowl, layer beans, veggies, and fruit. Rip or chop up the cilantro. I used about 1/4 cup, but add according to your taste (and also season with salt and pepper to taste). Mix together. Finally, top with 1/2 to 1 cup of your favorite salsa (but really just use Newman’s Pineapple- it’s that good). Mix altogether and serve!

Image

 

Shared on:  Grab this Button

7 thoughts on “Mango, Avocado, & Black Bean Salsa

  1. SUCH a good idea! Living in Holland, you basically have two options when it comes to salsa: basic tomato in either mild or ‘spicy’. Definitely going to be whipping this up for our next nacho night!

  2. This looks so pretty with all the colors. Thanks for sharing on Healthy Vegan Fridays! Don’t forget to link back to us. Thanks! ❤

  3. I always make the same old boring salsa – I love the sound of this version. Thanks for sharing this at Healthy Vegan Fridays (don’t forget to link back up!). I have pinned this sensational salsa recipe on our Pinterest board =)

Leave a Reply

