Healthy Pesto Zucchini Noodles with Black Bean Patties

Sometimes I wonder why I live in the Midwest. With the weather we’ve been having, this last week has been one of those times. All I want to do is eat warm things and sit by a fire. Since a fire doesn’t seem to be an option in my apartment, I think I’ll stick to cooking things that fill me up and keep me warm.

I had never tried making homemade pesto until this past week. I’m not sure why I waited so long. This version is light but filling, as it’s base is walnuts and broccoli. Best of all, the pesto is creamy and sticks to the zucchini noodles. It’s the perfect comfort food for Polar Vortex round 2. I recommend serving it with a cup of hot tea.

Image

Pesto Zucchini Noodles with Black Bean Patties

serves 3

Ingredients:

3 zucchinis

for the pesto:

1 1/2 cups cooked broccoli

1/3 cup chopped walnuts

2 garlic cloves

2 tbsp fresh basil

1 tbsp lime juice

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp miso paste

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

for the bean patties

1 can black beans

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 tbsp soy sauce

Image

Directions:

Use a vegetable peeler to cut zucchini into ribbons (1 zucchini per person).

Combine all pesto ingredients besides the broccoli in a food processor and pulse until mixed. Add broccoli and combine. Set aside while making the black bean patties.

For the patties, mash one can of black beans, then add oats and soy sauce. Heat a pan over medium heat with a little olive oil or cooking spray. Form small patties and cook about two minutes on each side.

Place pesto sauce over zucchini noodles and add bean patties on top. Enjoy!

Image

adapted from:

http://produceonparade.com/broccoli-walnut-pesto/

and

http://theveganstoner.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2012-06-23T14:46:00-07:00&max-results=4

One thought on “Healthy Pesto Zucchini Noodles with Black Bean Patties

Leave a Reply

