Dark Chocolate Chai Oatmeal

Today is 30° and sunny and sort of feels like the summer after the weather we’ve been having. Okay – that might be an exaggeration. But it was lovely to wake up and go for a run outside – I’ve been missing that sun and vitamin D! After my morning run I decided to make some oatmeal (shocking…) and love this combination. It’s like a cross between my Fudgy Chocolate Banana Oatmeal and my Chai Tea Latte Oatmeal. It’s super delicious and easy and as always is a great way to start your day and keep you energized. I added some peanut butter, cinnamon, and my favorite cereal. Yum.
Image
Dark Chocolate Chai Oatmeal
serves one
Ingredients:
1/2 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup water
1/3 cup chai tea (I used Oregon Chai Tea mix, but brewing a cup of tea would work just as well)
a pinch of salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp cocoa powder (I use Hershey’s Special Dark)
1/4 cup almond milk (or any type of milk)
Image
Directions:
Mix oats, water, chai tea, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for two minutes. Remove, stir, and add in cocoa powder and milk. Microwave for one more minute. Stir again and add toppings if desired!
Image
adapted from: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2014/01/08/chocolate-chai-tea-oatmeal/
4 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Chai Oatmeal

  1. It is definitely crazy how much 30 can feel like summer after -17!! I still want a large bowl of something warm when I come home, though. And this oatmeal is pretty perfect.

Leave a Reply

