Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough (aka best thing ever…)

I LOVE cookie dough. In fact if I could I would probably eat it everyday. I used to sneak spoonfuls out of the bowl when my mom was baking cookies and everyone knows the best type of ice cream is cookie dough. Imagine my happiness when I came across this recipe for healthy cookie dough. Cookie dough that I could eat by the spoonful and feel great about it? I’m in.

If you’re someone who doesn’t like to think of weird ingredients in their favorite food, tell your self this recipe is a dessert hummus and you will be so happy you tried it. I admit that it probably won’t fool anyone into thinking they’re eating a butter-laden, sugar-filled bowl of real cookie dough, but it will taste so good they won’t even care. Made with chickpeas, oats, peanut butter and chocolate chips, this recipe is a great appetizer or dessert for a crowd (or let’s be real sometimes I just eat a bowl of it for dinner – like last night, hi Katlin).

Image

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas

1/4 cup nut butter (I use pb2)

2 tbsp vanilla

1/4 almond milk (regular milk would work too)

1/4 cup oats

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

brown sugar or baking stevia to taste

as many chocolate chips as you chose (I like a lot – semi-sweet tastes the best)

Image

Directions:

Mix all ingredients besides oats and chocolate chips in a food processor or blender and mix until combined. Remove and put in large bowl, stir in oats and chocolate chips and serve! I like to eat it with crackers, cut up apples, or just by the spoonful. Be creative! I’m sure that pretty much anything would taste good dipped in here…

Adapted from:

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/05/23/want-to-eat-an-entire-bowl-of-cookie-dough/

2 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough (aka best thing ever…)

  1. Pingback: Gingerbread Cookie Dough Ice Cream | The Ice Cream InitiativeThe Ice Cream Initiative

Leave a Reply

