Vegetarian Bibimbap Bowl

I used to go to Blind Faith (a vegetarian restaurant in Evanston) all the time because I love their Bibimbap rice bowl. I craved the vegetables over the rice, the spicy seitan, the fried egg, and the red sauce drizzled over the top. I craved this dish and never wanted to order anything else on the menu. It took quite some time and a trip to China to realize the dish I loved so much was actually Korean. My friend Andrea convinced me to go to the Korean “canteen” with her for dinner one night. Lo and behold, one of the first items on the menu was a Bibimbap rice bowl. Bibimbap is Korean?! After that night I may have eaten as much Korean food as I did Chinese throughout the rest of my time in Beijing.

Although I still love Blind Faith, I have now become a frequenter to Korean restaurants. Even better, I have figured out how to create this amazing dish at home. It’s is a great way to use up the veggies you have in your fridge. There is no right or wrong way to cook it. This particular time I used bok choy, onion, zucchini, spinach, and brussels sprouts as my vegetables, some tempeh for protein, rice noodles and an egg on top. Use less vegetable to make it quicker, and change it up with brown rice bulgur or quinoa. Vegan? Leave out the fried egg.

For the spicy Korean sauce I love Annie Chun’s Gochujiang Sauce – I find it at Whole Foods and use it on so much – rice bowls, eggs, vegetables.

Image

Vegetarian Bibimbap Bowl

Serves one

Ingredients:

1 serving Rice Noodles

3 baby bok choy

1/3 of a large red onion

3 baby zucchini

1/2 cup Spinach

4 brussel sprouts

1/3 a block of tempeh

Soy Sauce

Teriyaki Sauce

Gochujiang Sauce

Image

Directions:

Prepare rice noodles according to directions on package. Cook each vegetable in a small pan on the stove. Short on time? Throw them all in the same skillet and cover with a lid to steam the veggies while sauteing them. Place vegetables over rice noodles. Cook the tempeh in the same pan for about two minutes on each side. Add to bowl. Finally, cook the egg as desired. I personally like it over easy so the egg yolk covers the whole bowl.

Once noodles, vegetables, tempeh, and egg are in a bowl, top with equal amounts of soy and teriyaki sauce. Finally add Gochukiang sauce.

Image

Shared on simplelivingeating.com

3 thoughts on “Vegetarian Bibimbap Bowl

  1. Pingback: Kimchi Fried “Rice” | Egginon

Leave a Reply

