Cinnamon Oatmeal with Pumpkin Peanut Butter

As it gets colder, there’s nothing like a bowl of oatmeal to warm you up in the morning. I would have stayed in bed all morning today (I could hear the rain pouring outside my window), but thinking about breakfast made we roll out of bed, step into my slippers, and head into the kitchen. After coffee and oatmeal I’m ready to venture outside (okay maybe walking to class still sounds terrible but at least I got out of bed).

Sick of  Quaker Instant oats packs like I am? Apple-cinnamon getting old? Making a better tasting oatmeal is easier than you think. So this oatmeal. It’s so good. And since it’s still October, I don’t feel bad posting another pumpkin recipe (let’s be real, pumpkin is always good). This recipe is super easy but makes your oatmeal taste gourmet (I would know, I’ve lost track of the last time I didn’t eat this for breakfast).

photo 2-2

Cinnamon Oatmeal with Pumpkin Peanut Butter

Ingredients:

1/2 cup quick oats

2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup water

2 tbsp peanut butter (I use PB2, but regular peanut butter will work just as well)

2 tbsp pumpkin puree

photo 1-2

Directions:

Add oats and 1 tbsp cinnamon to a microwave safe bowl and mix. Add water and vanilla. Microwave for about 2.5 minutes (or follow directions on your quick oats). While the oatmeal is cooking, add peanut butter, pumpkin puree, and remaining cinnamon to another small bowl. Stir until combined.

When oatmeal is finished, top with pumpkin peanut butter. Eat as is or top with a little of your favorite cereal or granola (I’m a big fan of Special K Oats and Honey)!

photo-90

Check out more recipes on Whole Food Fridays and Healthy Vegan Fridays!

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Oatmeal with Pumpkin Peanut Butter

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Protein Pancakes | Egginon

Leave a Reply

