Pumpkin Bulgur

Although I’m the type to try to hold onto summer for as long possible, even I have to admit that October means fall. And with the first of the month only a few short days away, I’ve decided to embrace the one thing I love about this season: pumpkin. My obsession with pumpkin is probably unhealthy, and you’ll find me trying to add it to everything I eat for the next couple of months. As I’m typing this I’m drinking pumpkin spice coffee, and have plans to add pumpkin to my breakfast in some way shape or form. I hope you like pumpkin too, and get ready for more pumpkin then you can handle 🙂
This pumpkin bulgur comes together in under 30 minutes. It’s rich and creamy like a risotto because of the pumpkin but still healthy. If you don’t have bulgur, try quinoa or rice or experiment with any other grain. Want to make it vegan? The cheese topping is totally optional.

Image

Pumpkin Bulgur

Serves 1 as main dish

 

Ingredients:

½ a red onion, finely chopped

4 cloves garlic

½ cup bulgur

1 ½ cup vegetable stock

½ cup white wine

parmesan cheese

½ pumpkin puree

salt and pepper

Directions:

Heat a skillet, add cooking spray, onions, and garlic. Sauté until onion begins to soften. Add bulgur and toast for about 1 minute.

In a small pot, heat wine and vegetable stock over low heat. Add half of stock mixture to the bulgur and onions and wait till absorbed, stirring occasionally. Add the rest of the mixture and wait stir until absorbed and bulgur is fully cooked. Remove from heat and stir in pumpkin. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese, mix, and transfer to a bowl, and top with more parmesan, salt, and pepper.

Image

Eating as a main dish? Add a protein (I used seitan, but chicken would work well) and a roast veggie (I cooked brussel sprouts in the oven with a little parmesan on top).

Image

 

Check out http://pureella.com/blog/ for a round up of pumpkin recipes!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bulgur

  1. Pingback: It’s pumpkin time! | Racerback Tan Lines

Leave a Reply

